The Iconic Magic Shell from Childhood

This post takes me back to my childhood. Until we moved houses, when I was six, we lived a mere three blocks from a Dairy Queen. Thus I had my fill of chocolate dipped cones growing up. I am a texture junkie when it comes to food so I loved that oh so yummy soft serve encapsulated by that decadent, crunchy, chocolate shell.  

Years later while making my own ice cream creations I stumbled upon a post where Georgia Johnson from the Comfort of Cooking blog  claimed to make the iconic Dairy Queen magic shell. I was excited. She seemed to love it as much as I did, and as I was researching for my own mint chocolate chip ice cream recipe, I discovered a connection and decided to give her recipe a whirl. 

Have you ever put whole chocolate chips in ice cream? It works in a pinch but they get so hard when frozen that it’s not entirely pleasant. But what happens when you melt down chocolate with a bit of oil, let it cool, and then add it to churning ice cream? Magic! Magic shell to be quite precise. It makes all the difference in the world and literally takes 2 minutes. That’s even a generous time estimate. 

  

To make the loveliness that is magic shell, take a cup of chocolate and place it in a microwave safe measuring cup or dish. Add 2 tablespoons of oil (I used coconut oil) and microwave for 30 seconds – 1 minute. Every microwave is different. My magic number is 49 seconds. Yours may be more or less but it won’t take long. The chocolate simply needs to melt enough that when you stir it all together it’s nice and smooth. Let it cool slightly and you’re in business. How simple is that! An added bonus is it keeps fantastically at room temp for a month! Thus don’t be afraid to double or triple the recipe. 

So next time you make ice cream and want to step it up a bit, make a batch of magic shell and pour it in slowly during the last few minutes of the churning process. Take the extra 49 second seconds. You’ll be oh so glad you did. No more pesky hard chunks of chocolate. Now you’ll have light, crisp strands woven throughout each bite. 

 

Just want a scoop of ice cream? Pour it over top or if you really wanna get fancy try doing your own dipped cones and tell me how it works out. 

Happy Shelling! 

Leave a Reply

