Redeemed Brussels Sprouts

Brussels sprouts are a vegetable in the cabbage family known both for their beautiful, edible, buds, and for striking fear into the hearts of children and adults alike, when on the menu for dinner. My mum never fixed them when my brother and I were growing up, due to bad memories of her mother fixing them when she was a child. My dad had a similar story, so when she told me she fixed them this past week, I wondered why?! She then proceeded to tell me they were fantastic! What on earth! Apparently she served them alongside a juicy rotisserie chicken and her luscious Yukon gold mashed potatoes …this at least had me listening. My mum is an incredible cook. Just ask my hubby about her Kahlua espresso cheesecake and the steak dinner we had for Christmas two years ago (moment of happy foodie silence). So where is this post headed you might be asking? Well it’s headed towards our dinner table. Last night I roasted a chicken, made mashed potatoes and fixed Ina Garten’s Brussels Sprouts Lardons. In short they were indeed fantastic. My official taste-tester husband and I highly recommend them to anyone needing to erase and replace any horror meal moments from childhood. All you need is Brussels sprouts, bacon, olive oil, kosher salt, golden raisins (trust me), and chicken stock. In 30 minutes you have a cracking good side dish to complement your main course. Thanks mum you have redeemed the Brussels sprouts!

So try it! Need reasons?

Bacon

Cost effective

Contains sulforaphane (a chemical believed to have anticancer properties)

Bacon

Source of indole-3-carbinol which boosts DNA repair in cells

Bacon

High in vitamins A,C, & K + fair source of iron and folic acid

NOTE: store unwashed sprouts in an airtight plastic bag for up to 3 days in your fridge. According to what I was reading if you leave them longer they will develop a strong unwanted flavor. eek!

One thought on “Redeemed Brussels Sprouts”

Leave a Reply

