“Baby its Cold Outside” … so lets make some Ice Cream

Today it was 43 degrees in Dallas and 33 the day prior. In my hometown it was a mere 9 degrees with a windchill of -8. Naturally, since 43 and 33 are arctic temperatures to Dallasites, and 9 is quite arctic by anyone’s measurements, I want to talk about ice cream. I have recently discovered that no matter the weather, ice cream sounds consistently fabulous.

Is it just me?

Last year I purchased a lovely Cuisinart Ice-21 Frozen Yogurt Ice Cream and Sorbet Maker and have had two major failures (my own fault not the machine), and one success. Tonight as my craving for ice cream increases, it has me thinking of my one success: David Lebovitz’s Salted Butter Caramel. Just the name evokes a moment of happy silence for caramel lovers. So, as temperatures in much of the United States continue to remain excessively cold, I thought we could add a log to the fireplace, imagine we’re on a lovely beach, and make some ice cream. If you have never visited davidlebovitz.com please do. He has simple guidelines on how to make fantastic ice cream with or without a purchased maker, so no matter your tools you can do it! The Ice Creams and Sorbet tab is most excellent but I dare you to stop there.

Happy Churning and stay Warm!

2 thoughts on ““Baby its Cold Outside” … so lets make some Ice Cream”

Leave a Reply

