My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness

It has been one of those days . . . One of those days where if I crunch another cheerio underfoot, my anger will erupt  . . . One of those days where the fussiness of my daughter makes me want to give up . . . One of those days where I simply feel worn out . . . One of those days that brings the painful truth that I am a sinner screaming to the forefront of my mind. Starting in verse 5 of Colossians chapter 3 Paul says to put to death and put away those things in which we once walked such as sexual immorality, impurity, evil desire, covetousness, anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk. He says in verse twelve to put on compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness and patience. This morning when I read those verses for my quiet time, the words anger, wrath, kindness and patience jumped off the page and dove at me like darts. My heart was reeking of these things (or the lack thereof). I kept hearing in my mind a recent memory verse “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness,” which comes from II Corinthians 12:8.  Paul uses the present tense here. God’s grace “Is sufficient.” I love this! God’s grace is sufficient! It’s not past tense. It doesn’t have an end date. It is ever present, ever available, and ever sufficient! My days look very different than the apostle Paul’s but we have Christ in common. Everyone who puts their hope and trust in the Lord has this promise. When we are weak He is strong. Have you trusted Him? I am always weak. On days when my heart reeks of things that are not pleasing . . . on days where I am not patient, loving, and kind to my husband and my daughter . . . I need the Lord and am thankful for His Grace and forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

