Intentionality, Fever, and Chronicles

I have been increasingly convicted about being intentional with my words. I am realizing that I say “good luck” a lot or I respond to situations with a nonchalant, sinful attitude that minimizes the Lord and what He is doing. I said good luck to my husband as he was walking out the door to take his mammoth Greek exam last week thinking I was a good little encouraging wife. He said “there’s no such thing as luck.” Before my spirits crashed to the depths I realized he was right. When I took our daughter’s temperature Tuesday night and the thermometer read 104.9 it was not luck that drew it down. It was God.
God is not in the business of luck. Everything happens because He lets it. It is not without reason. There is no luck or coincidence. This past week has been a challenging one, but it has also been a beautiful learning experience about my Savior. Our daughter has been sick. What started as a low-grade fever quickly escalated and remained high. That, coupled with her lifeless behavior, became concerning enough to take her to the immediate care clinic Monday night. We got a few possible answers, but there were still unknowns. Tuesday we had to go back in to get a urine sample tested, which resulted in blood work and concern over a mounting infection. That night her fever spiked to 104.9. I woke Matt, we prayed, and Matt called my father for help as I got Izzy in a lukewarm bath. Praise God her fever receded to 102.8 and we did not have to go to the children’s ER. We kept a sharp eye on her that night but there were lots of prayers lifted up for grace and protection. For the first time we were confronted with our daughters’ mortality and our limitations. I have been reading in Kings and Chronicles for my quiet time over the past few months but in the midst of this sickness I read II Chronicles chapter 20 which is an account of King  Jehoshaphat. He is faced with the information that a horde of armies bent on his people’s destruction is marching towards Judah. In my mind I pictured Helm’s Deep in Lord of the Rings. His first response is to lead his people in seeking God’s face. In verse 12 he says “… for we are powerless against this great horde that is coming against us. We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” Later in verse 15 Jahaziel speaks for the Lord and says, “… do not be afraid and do not be dismayed at this great horde, for the battle is not yours but God’s.” Back to my conviction regarding intentionality . . . reading this chapter in light of Isabella’s sickness was not coincidence or luck. Tuesday night we realized just how powerless we were. We did not know what to do other than keep our eyes on the Lord. It was His battle, not ours. Yesterday marked day 1 of Izzy being back to her busy, ornery self. After 7 days of sickness she is recovering. Praise God! I know more times like this will come . . . times where my husband and I will realize our powerlessness but Praise God when we are weak He is strong. This passage in II Chronicles will always be a special passage between me and the Lord. It is a beautiful reminder for all of us to constantly fix our eyes on the Lord. Our battles are not ours but His.

Leave a Reply

